Alle Bewertungen

Vertrauen auf uns

Feedback unserer Kunden

Wenn Sie als Besitzer von unserem Produkt überzeugt sind, verfassen Sie bitte eine Review und posten Sie diese unter BEWERTUNGEN auf der Produkt – Seite. Unsere User schätzen die Ehrlichkeit und Authentizität privater Berichterstattung ganz besonders,  vielen Dank.

 

Total Reviews: 87
Solaris
Solaris
Samstag, der 17. Oktober 2020
5

Auf den Punkt gebracht: Der exzellent verarbeitete Audio Valve Solaris DAC sieht... View

Ich habe im September einen Solaris gebraucht erworben. Nachdem es damit ein kleines technisches Problem gab, kontaktierte ich Audiovalve telefonisch. Zu meiner Überraschung war direkt Herr Becker am Apparat, der sich viel Zeit nahm und überhaupt kein Problem damit hatte, dass ich nicht Erstkäufer bin. Wir beschlossen, dass ich das Gerät zur Reparatur persönlich vorbeibringe (Kassel ist für mich nicht so weit entfernt). Für den Transport wurde mir ohne Aufhebens gratis ein Original-Karton geschickt. Vor Ort wurde ich sehr freundlich empfangen, es gab einen Kaffee und ein nettes Gespräch mit Herrn Becker. Das Problem wurde behoben, dazu gab es eine Durchsicht, einen Wechsel der Röhren, die serienmäßige Fernbedienung und eine Bedienungsanleitung, und das alles für einen Spottpreis von 100 EUR. Mein Fazit: ein vorbildlicher, sehr persönlicher Service zu einem mehr als kundenfreundlichen Kurs. Diese Erfahrung widerspricht vielen mäßigen bis schlechten Erfahrungen mit anderen Herstellern und Vertrieben. Ein dickes Lob!
DC - avatar DC
Solaris
Solaris
Montag, der 17. August 2020
5

Auf den Punkt gebracht: Der exzellent verarbeitete Audio Valve Solaris DAC sieht... View

Hello Herr Becker,

It is now three months since I have your wonderful Solaris-DAC. Here are my impressions with the equipment I use.

The system comprises: iMac Pro running Roon connected to the Solaris-DAC by an Audioquest Carbon USB cable. Running off the Solaris’s pre-amp outputs are a pair of Acoustic Energy AE1 Active speakers. The headphones I use are Meze Empyrean with SIN Audio balanced XLR-4 cable, and the Abyss AB 1266 Phi TC with the standard cable.

Let’s start with the Solaris-DAC. MY shortlist for a DAC/Headphone amp came down to a choice of two: the Chord HugoTT2 or the Solaris-DAC. THE Hugo TT2 is more of a DAC with a headphone amp added, and the Solaris is more of a Headphone Amp with a DAC added. After extensive listening at Headphone Auditions Amsterdam I preferred the sound of the Solaris-DAC. Although it was less analytical and detailed than the Chord, the overall sound was more “musical” and more pleasurable overall. I found the Solaris-DAC a better match for my choice of headphones too, bringing out the strengths of both the Meze’s and the Abyss’s.

The sound with the Acoustic Energy speakers lives up to the name. They are quite enthusiastic little speakers that love to just pick up a rhythm and run with it. I use these speakers mostly for dance music or for when I am tired of wearing headphones. With the Solaris the sound is snappy, rhythmic and danceable and for such tiny little speakers there is actually enough bass, and the bass quality from the Solaris is very good. A lot of fun for a €1000 pair of speakers.

Most of the time I use the Solaris with the Meze Empyreans. This is partly because this combination is so “musica” and partly because the Meze’s are incredibly comfortable, even for long listening sessions (something the Abyss’s are not). With the Meze’s on the Solaris the music flows naturally into your ears, with vocals having real body, and also trumpets and saxophones in jazz recordings sounding magical. There is a deep rounded bass, a full-bodied midrange and a slightly soft treble with this combination. It never gets sharp or tiring. You don’t get the detail or the “you are there” feeling of the Abyss’s but you get a sound that draws you deep into the music. This combination is also forgiving or a poor quality source, and I can listen to Internet radio without it sounding terrible. Generally, I can listen to the combination of Solaris and Meze’s for hours.

For critical listening when I really want to get into the detail of a recording, or when I need that “you are there” feeling that comes with certain good recordings, I have the Abyss AB 1266’s. These are notoriously difficult headphones to drive, but present no problem for the Solaris. This is also a very satisfying combination. There is a sense of space and air in the music, with every instrument or vocal given its proper place. The background is silent. The tiniest of details are revealed but this combination is less relaxing to listen to than the Meze’s. I find I can listen to this combination for a maximum of around two hours before I need a break, although those two hours are very pleasurable indeed! This is partly because the Abyss’s are not the most comfortable headphones on the planet.

I am indeed very happy with my Solaris-DAC and speakers/headphones. I do wonder whether in the future I’ll by an upgraded external DAC, but for now I’m loving what I’ve got. Thank you Herr Becker. Another satisfied customer.

Regards

Freddie
Freddie Martin - avatar Freddie Martin
Baldur 300+ sovereign
Baldur 300+ sovereign
Mittwoch, der 29. Juli 2020
5

NOTE THE SUMMER DISCOUNT !!! Srajan Ebaen, 6moons.com, April 2018 concluded"...the upshot... View

Having had the Audio Valve Solaris Headphone amp in my home for some memorable late-night encounters proved quite informative. This headphone amplifier had so many tricks up its sleeve I almost mistook it for David Copperfield. The Solaris was a machine that kept saying, is that all you got? I threw every kind of headphone at it from dynamic to planner to electrostatics, and it performed like a world champion. It also comes as a preamp, amplifier, and phono, head-amp standard. Whether you are cramped for space or want a Class A component in your system, then consider the Audio Valve Solaris. That said, I was very interested in knowing what else Mr. Helmut Becker, chief designer of Audio Valve was doing.

I've always wondered if German audio designers are as meticulous about their audio as much as they are about their automobiles? After all, they build the Rolls Royce, Bentley, Mercedes Benz, BMW, Audi, and Volkswagen, any of which I would gladly own.

So I called Mr. Becker and asked him about his mono-blocks, of which Key Kim had already reviewed his Challengers 115/180 watts depending on the tube selection one used. They've been around for thirty-three years and have been refined electronically and cosmetically! Mr. Becker suggested I try his Baldur 300's, which he is most proud of at this moment in time. Each component of each model he builds, Helmut considers being a large part of himself.

I think that Helmut’s Automatic Bias Regulators (ABR) is absolutely genius, and considering he employed this almost 40 years ago tells me that he stands head and shoulders above other engineers of vacuum tube designers. The ABR is in constant use, measuring the output of each tube and that it is performing up to Mr. Becker's standers. Should one tube veer off in performance. An LED will light up next to the tube in question and let you know you should change that tube. Because of the ABR system, only one and not a pair of tubes need a replacement! Matched pairs are unnecessary with all his amplifiers.

I received the Baldur 300's last week, and set up is straightforward! I was up and running in less than fifteen minutes. The Baldur's are both new and old school in there looks only. The steel chassis and parallel steel rods that keep small children's hands off the set of ten tubes out of their reach. It's a cage-like structure and indeed a great idea. That's where the old school ends. What's new school is the power switch and ABR activation switch that, when powered up, shows the plexiglass signage of Baldur 300 etched into it glowing and not so subtle hue of red. That all changes when the Baldur auto-bias finishes its job of biasing the five pairs of AS7G's. As soon as this is optimized, the red glowing signage turns to green, and you're ready to blast off. Mr. Becker uses military-grade circuit boards in every design, and every amplifier that rolls off the assembly line is perfectly identical. Quality control is essential in the world that Helmut Becker's family-owned business! The rear provides you with two five-way binding posts, (one 4 Ohm and one 8 Ohm).

So how do they sound? In one word Glorious! They are dead silent, no hum or buzz can be discerned. They are not colored or overly sweet like some say tube amplifiers sound. Highs are clear and sparkle, low frequency is accurate and authoritative. The definition really surprised me because most tube amps, to me, always sounded weak to me when playing bass guitar or fiddle & sounded boomy and slushy, but not here!

Vocals were spot on and, in some cases, right in the room. The soundstage was as full and extensive as the parking lot across the street from my house. Castanets were palatable, and the tapping of cymbals was like I never heard in the past! The resolving power of this amps are second to none. I could listen to the ringing of cymbals between the quick taping of Max Roach

Everything I threw at the Baldur's sounded more real and more luxurious than any solid state amp I had heard.

I decided to listen to a few genres and started with James Taylor. His guitar rang out tried and true, his voice was smooth and velvety, his backup singers were more discerning than I remember even after playing the CD multiple time in the past. I listened intently to The River is Wide with the finesse of violins and steel string guitar, it was like it was the first time I ever heard this track.

I then went to a CD of Barbra Streisand's, Higher Ground, and her orchestra, and she shined bright and distinctive beyond belief! Cellos and violins popped into my room stage right, and this songbird was performing for me alone by candle lights, and her voice soared and kept soaring. I've never been a person that listens a lot to her music & I only have this one CD of hers, but I might change my mind while hearing her through the Baldur 300's. The music was detailed, dynamic, and so very very involving. Track four is a real treat Called "Tell Him" as it's a duet with Celine Dion and Barbra, and the combo of voice and amplifiers didn't disappoint, it was grand, dead center; it pulled me in like a heavy-duty winch.

It was time to try another genre, and so I put on some Felix Mendelssohn, Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op 56 "Scottish" track 1 Andante Con Moro; Allegro Un Poco agitateo was stunning. Each instrument was well defined, and the rhythm and pace were like waves, coming and going and flowed effortlessly over my listening room. This amplifier was no ordinary amp.

Strings were sweet and also forceful in this piece! French horns were authoritative as if sounding a warning. Crescendos were like tsunami's Each instrument in its place and readied for everything Mendelssohn was about to give them, and he did. This piece runs 14 minutes and 3 seconds, but it drifted by at a remarkable speed. This set of amplifiers were able to reveal every layer of the complexity of music I gave it! So I decided to provide it with some jazz, going back to the nineteen sixty-four with none-other than John Coltrane!

A CD entitled "A Love Supreme. " And John writes to the listener, and ALL PRAISE BE TO GOD TO WHOM ALL PRAISE IS DUE." Let us pursue Him in a righteous path. Yes, it's true; seek, and ye shall find. Only through Him can we know the most beautiful bequeathal." Coltrane goes on and tells us that in 1957 he have a spiritual awakening but strayed now and then, but God was merciful and further says to us," His way is in Love, through which we all are. IT IS TRULY-A LOVE SUPREME." And it supreme because Coltrane plays that saxophone like it was a gift from God. If there was such a thing as perfection then this recording is one example.

The synergy of these four souls is as perfect as can be. The heart of each musician beats with the timing of a Swiss watch. One beat after another and another and stage right, we get some crosstalk from Elvin Jones doing a superb job on drums with McCoy Tyner's piano sliding up and down the scales with beautiful riffs that sing almost poetic. Jimmy Garrison is skillful and convincing on bass, which is authoritative and articulate through the Baldur 300's.

The sound of these Baldur 300 mono blocks were transparent, revealing musical, with excellent detail up and down the entire frequency ranges. Bass was extraordinary and never lacking. On one occasion a great friend commented, “Where is the subwoofer”? There was none.

Vocals are outstanding, smooth and forward, the high frequencies are delightfully detailed and I kept asking myself how extraordinary the design and engineering must be to be able to captivate the listener into listening for hour upon hour with not a hint of fatigue . The word special or awesome kept rolling off my tongue when describing these amplifiers. Orchestra’s showed their full color, texture and weight when played through the Baldur 300’s. Another surprise was the speed in which they could reproduce percussions especially the high-hats and symbols.

So at $18,626.00 per pair I can not believe that these amplifiers are not double or triple the cost per performance . What still rocks my boat is the fact that I have only sixty hours of run in on these amplifiers and was told that they need a full one hundred hours to break-in. Needless to say at this price I decided to pull the trigger and keep the Baldur 300’s as my reference amplifiers in my listening room

Sent from my iPhone, Marty ...
Helmut Becker - avatar Helmut Becker
ECLIPSE Line
ECLIPSE Line
Samstag, der 25. Juli 2020
5

"...this preamp is a tube rollers dream. Depending on what your sonic... View

Здравствуйте, я вам обещал отзыв по предварительному усилителю.
Eclipse мне очень понравился. У меня достаточно сложная система: два проигрывателя , пять 12 дюймовых тонармов , фонокорректор Manley Steelhead с пассивным предварительным усилением , моноблоки Baldur 300 , магнитофон . Все это красиво играло , но когда я подключил предварительный усилитель Eclipse я услышал огромную разницу в звуке . Звук стал гармоничным, собранным , высокие частоты прозрачны, хрустальны . Бас стал гораздо более плотным , акцентированным и очень красивая середина . Все это льётся из динамика единым потоком . Звук стал завораживающим . Мои гости часами слушают и не хотят уходить . Спасибо вам большое за ваши совершенные приборы . Высылаю вам фото и видио моей системы .
Helmut Becker - avatar Helmut Becker
Luminare
Luminare
Samstag, der 18. Juli 2020
5

Der Audio Valve Luminare ist aktuell schlicht einer der  besten DAC/Kopfhörerverstärker der... View

Hallo Herr Becker,

der Luminare 2015 - Nummer 038 - spielt nun bei mir seit 10 Tagen im Vergleich zum FEILIKS AUDIO EUFORIA. Als Kopfhörer kam ein ATH-ATX 5000 zum Einsatz. Die Frage, ob der Luminare 2015 im OTL Betrieb eine Alternative darstellt, war relativ schnell unstrittig.

Bei der Abgabe eines Klangurteils verunsichern in den ersten Tagen "alte Hörgewohnheiten" und der "Reiz des Neuen". Nun bin ich mir relativ sicher, dass meine Ohr/Hirnkombination bei einer fiktiv geforderten Zwangsentscheidung den Luminare 2015 "schweren Herzen's" vorziehen würde.

Luminare's mehr PS nebst Hubraum beherrschen den ATH-ATX 5000 um das entscheidende Jota besser. Rolls Royce beantwortet die Frage nach der Leistung mit einem knappen "ausreichend".
Dieses "ausreichend" darf der Luminare ebenfalls für sich beanspruchen. Die im direkten Vergleich "intimere" Darstellung des FEILIKS AUDIO EUFORIA hat nunmehr für meine Ohr/Hirnkombination die Rolle des zweiten Siegers übernommen.

Zugegeben, diese Einschätzung ist ab und zu von der Tagesform abhängig. Haptisch erinnert mich der Luminare an einen S&R Emitter oder auch umgekehrt. Beide Gerätschaften haben im Jahre 1980 in ihren "Urfassungen" das Licht der Welt erblickt.

Perfekte Formgebung bringt ein optisches Alleinstellungsmerkmal. Zum technischen Alleinstellungsmerkmal gehört auch die Kraft und Möglichkeit des Luminare wirklich jeden Kopfhörer vernaschen zu können. Dem Grunde nach eine Anschaffung fürs Leben.


Beste Grüsse
Horst H.
Helmut Becker - avatar Helmut Becker
RKV 2
RKV 2
Mittwoch, der 1. Juli 2020
5

Leider ist der Eintrag nur auf Amerikanisches Englisch verfügbar. Der Inhalt wird... View

Grüß Sie Herr Becker,

in diesen Tagen ist es passiert. Mein RKV hatte wieder einmal Geburtstag. In diesem Jahr ist
er nunmehr 36 Jahre in zuverlässigem Betrieb. Für mich der “Audiophile Käfer” schlechthin.
Er läuft und läuft und läuft... Und klingt und klingt und klingt....
Dank seiner patentierten Auto-Bias Schaltung
musste er keinerlei klangliche Einbußen hinnehmen.
Und das als Röhrengerät...!!

Dies ist wohl das einzige High-End-Gerät aus den frühen 80 er Jahren,
von dem solches begründet und nachvollziehbar ernsthaft behauptet werden kann.

Ich denke, ich habe eines der ersten als Bausatz erhältlichen Geräte aufgebaut.

Doch nun ist die Zeit ins Land gegangen
und die Kopfhörer haben eine erheblich geringere Impedanz als zu jener Zeit.

Und die Frage ist: was kann ich tun, damit ich einen 32 Ohm Kopfhörer mit dem RKV betreiben kann?

Beim “Luminare” gibt es diesen Mode Umschalter an der Front.
Kann ich die Lösung dahinter auf meinen RKV anwenden?
Was müsste ich dazu tun?

Mit freundlichen Grüßen
E. - A. Pohl
Helmut Becker - avatar Helmut Becker
Luminare
Luminare
Mittwoch, der 1. Juli 2020
5

Der Audio Valve Luminare ist aktuell schlicht einer der  besten DAC/Kopfhörerverstärker der... View

Hallo Herr Becker,

jetzt habe ich es endlich mal geschafft meine Erfahrungen mit dem Luminare zu beschreiben.

Der Luminare ist im Mai bei mir eingezogen. Es handelt sich um ein Gerät aus den Second Hand-Angeboten von Audio Valve auf Basis des 2016er Modells. Herr Becker bot mir an, den Luminare auf dem aktuellen Stand mit dem 3-stufigen GAIN-Schalter und einem neuen Röhrensatz zu liefern. Diesem Angebot konnte ich nicht widerstehen, auch wenn zu diesem Zeitpunkt eine derartige Investition in das Thema Kopfhörer gar nicht geplant war.

Ich habe erst dieses Jahr mit dem Hören über Kopfhörer zu Hause begonnen. In der Vergangenheit waren Kopfhörer meine Begleiter für soliden Musikgenuss unterwegs. Der Luminare ersetzt bei mir einen Burson Soloist SL Mk 2. Der erste Hörer für zu Hause war ein Quad ERA-1 der bereits mit dem Burson sehr gut harmonierte und am Luminare noch einmal ein wenig geschmeidiger und räumlich offener spielte. Hier war auch die neue GAIN-Stufe zum Absenken eine interessante Option, da sich über diese auch der ERA grundsätzlich im OTL-Mode betreiben lässt, der für mich in Hinblick auf die Geschlossenheit des Klangbildes einen Vorteil gegenüber dem Low Impedance Mode besitzt, der mich immer wieder zum OTL-Mode streben lässt.

Den größeren Unterschied konnte ich jedoch bei meinem Hifiman Arya feststellen, er konnte sich am Burson in vielen Aspekten nicht deutlich vom ERA absetzen und ich war schon ein wenig überrascht ob des geringen Unterschieds. Es war aber auch deutlich, dass für den Arya der Burson sehr weit aufgedreht werden musste und ich war mir nicht sicher, ob hier nicht Potenzial verschenkt wird. Wie so oft in der Welt des HiFi löst das eine das andere aus. So führte die Suche nach einem „kleinen“ Verstärker-Upgrade letztendlich dann zum Luminare.

Mit dem Luminare sind die Unterschiede dann auch deutlich. Der Arya spielt luftiger, schneller und trotzdem im Ganzen harmonischer. Ich kann stundenlang fasziniert Musik hören, die mir über Lautsprecher sehr vertraut ist, und entdecke immer wieder neue Details ohne dabei besonders konzentriert darauf zu achten. Diese Kombination zeigt mir die Möglichkeiten und überaus spannenden Facetten des Kopfhörer-Hörens für mich beeindruckend auf und ich kann momentan nicht.sagen, dass sich aus klanglichen Aspekten der Wunsch nach einem Update selbst am fernsten Horizont andeuten könnte.

Aber.... da gibt es ja auch noch den Anschluss für die Elektrostaten und von der Begeisterung über die Kombination Luminare / Arya getrieben wurde meine Neugier geweckt, auch mal zu hören, wie sich diese Variante Kopfhörer unterscheiden würde... schließlich ist dies ja ein Merkmal des Luminare auch diese Option zu eröffnen ohne ein neues Gerät kaufen zu müssen. Gesagt, getan...wurde noch schnell ein gebrauchter Stax SR 507 erworben. Hier entdecke ich mit dem Luminare noch einmal feinere Details, die mir besonders beim Hören von klassischer Musik positiv auffallen. Auch wenn in Summe der Arya für mich am Luminare die Nase vorne hat.

Es ist ja so oft das Verhängnis der Flexibilität. Das Wissen um die Möglichkeiten führt dann doch schneller als man denkt zum Ausloten der selbigen.

Aber so ganz nebenbei konnte ich auch nicht der Versuchung widerstehen, den Luminare auch mal als Vorverstärker für meine Aktiv-Lautsprecher zu probieren. Auch dieser Versuch hat bei mir zu einer positiven Veränderung geführt die ich darauf zurückführe, dass die Klangsignatur, die mir mit den Kopfhörern so gut gefällt sich in Teilen auf die Wiedergabe über die Lautsprecher überträgt. Entscheidend ist für mich insbesondere eine für mich stimmigere Abbildung von akustischen Instrumenten und diese harmonische Geschlossenheit des Klangbildes, die für mich ein entspannteres Hören bietet ohne auf Details gegenüber vorher zu verzichten.

Der Luminare ist für mich ein faszinierendes Werkzeug um die Welt der Kopfhörer zu erkunden. Er ist für mich als Laie sehr überzeugend verarbeitet und somit auch in der Benutzung eine Freude. Als Kopfhörerverstärker stellt er mich so wohl klanglich als auch funktional umfassend zufrieden. Die überzeugende Vorstellung als Vorverstärker ist für mich die Sahnehaube oben drauf. Ich bin durchaus versucht, mich auch noch mit der DAC-Option zu beschäftigen um herauszufinden, ob dies dann die Kirsche ganz oben sein könnte.

Vielen Dank für diese wunderbare Stück Technik, was mir das Gefühl gibt, einen Wegbegleiter für sehr lange Zeit gefunden zu haben, der mich für das Kopfhörer hören überaus begeistert.

Mit besten Grüßen aus Frankfurt, L.
Helmut Becker - avatar Helmut Becker
Baldur 300+ sovereign
Baldur 300+ sovereign
Dienstag, der 30. Juni 2020
5

NOTE THE SUMMER DISCOUNT !!! Srajan Ebaen, 6moons.com, April 2018 concluded"...the upshot... View

Hello Helmut,

I thought you would be interested in a listening session that I did with some of my audiophile friends
did last weekend. One of my friends brought over his Burmester 911 Mk2 to compare against my Baldur 300s.
We had a great time going back and forth between the amplifiers listening to many diffirent types of music
from different sources and formats, from SACD, CD, vinyl LP, and Digital. In the end, everyone agreed,
the Baldurs came out first in every category; Dynamics, depth, imaging, bass, mid, highs, vocals, musicality.
The only negative comments anyone had was of course, the heat (to be expected from 240w Class A)!
Most of my friends were expecting that the Burmester 911 would come out as the clear winner,
but they were quite surprised at the performance of the Baldur 300s. Especially with the Conductor, it's a hard combination to beat!

Cheers! Neil
Helmut Becker - avatar Helmut Becker
Solaris
Solaris
Montag, der 22. Juni 2020
5

Auf den Punkt gebracht: Der exzellent verarbeitete Audio Valve Solaris DAC sieht... View

Hi Mr. Becker,


I have just published the Solaris review on head-fi:

https://www.head-fi.org/showcase/audiovalve-solaris-multi-function-headphones-amplifier.24443/reviews#item-review-23854

Sorry about the delay, I was kind of busy these days.

Best regards,
Leo
Helmut Becker - avatar Helmut Becker
Luminare
Luminare
Donnerstag, der 4. Juni 2020
5

Der Audio Valve Luminare ist aktuell schlicht einer der  besten DAC/Kopfhörerverstärker der... View

Vom "Mentalist" aus den OEF: Mein Weg zum entspannten Musikgenuss, ich denke mal da werden sich so etliche Musik und HiFi Enthusiasten mit ihren Werdegängen auch daran erinnern, führte von sehr großen Familien Inkompatiblen Lautsprechersystemen mit teuren Verstärkern und Plattenspielern nebst Allerlei Zubehör, zum Kopfhörer.
Ich stand als KH Newbie vor einer unübersichtlichen Produktpalette und begann mich auch hier im Forum zu informieren.
Im laufe der Zeit schärfte sich mein Anforderungsprofil, welches da wäre: Gute Durchhörbarkeit im Bereich "Klassik", Spaß mit Riesling und Youtube am PC und Entspannung im Garten auch wenn der Nachbar wieder lärmt.
Da ich mich ja reduzieren wollte kam für diese (bis auf den Garten Einsatz) Anforderung nur ein Kombigerät infrage welche alle meine Kopfhörer problemlos antreiben konnte.
Dieses Gerät habe ich nun im Audiovalve Luminare gefunden.
Er treibt meinen Stax Sr L 700mk2 sehr souverän und unangestrengt an. Meine beiden Spaßkopfhörer Quad ERA1 und den Focal Elegia sowieso.
Ich bin persönlich der Meinung besser geht immer, aber wenn das Preis / Leistungsverhältnis auch eine Rolle spielt, ist man hier mit dieser Kombination schon weit an der Sonne.
Habe die Ehre
Helmut Becker - avatar Helmut Becker
Luminare
Luminare
Sonntag, der 26. April 2020
5

Der Audio Valve Luminare ist aktuell schlicht einer der  besten DAC/Kopfhörerverstärker der... View

Hallo Herr Becker,

ich möchte mich gerne bei Ihnen für das wunderbare Stück "Technik" bedanken.
Von frühester Jugend bin ich an sehr an Musik interessiert und im Laufe der Zeit mit unterschiedlichsten Wiedergabe Ketten unterwegs gewesen.
Nun bin ich, auch bedingt durch den "Womens Acceptance Factor" auf den Kopfhörer gekommen.
Durch den Luminare werden alle limitierenden Faktoren aufgehoben. Insbesondere möchte ich die hervorragende räumliche Wiedergabe hervorheben.
Das hat mich schon sehr beeindruckt! Sogar meine Frau, die den Eskapaden stets sehr kritisch gegenüber steht, verblieb deutlich länger am Hörplatz.
Ich hatte schon Sorge das mein Platz okkupiert wird. Ein klares positives Statement aus ihrem Munde! WOW -
Gibt es nur in Ausnahmefällen nach einem Konzertbesuch! - Gruss Mentalist
Helmut Becker - avatar Helmut Becker
ECLIPSE Line
ECLIPSE Line
Dienstag, der 14. April 2020
5

"...this preamp is a tube rollers dream. Depending on what your sonic... View

Erst kam die Baldur 300 Plus und jetzt die Eclipse !
Hallo zusammen ,wie die Überschrift schon sagt geht es heute um die Eclipse Vorstufe.
Es ist ja schon etwas gewagt ,ein Produkt zu kaufen das man vorher weder getestet hat, geschweige denn irgendwo gehört ? !
Doch ich habe es getan einfach so, nein eher im vertrauen das wenn H. Becker so genial klingende Endstufen baut ,der Vorverstärker nicht schlechter sein kann .
Dazu gleich mehr, aber erst mal auspacken und anschließen und da schon die erste sehr angenehme Überraschung. Platz satt für die Chinch Kabel an der Rückseite ,endlich einmal genug Zwischenraum zum stecken und festdrehen ,sowas hat man echt selten in der Gerätelandschaft , dann die sehr gute Haptik wie schon bei den Endstufen echt Toll !
Die erste Hörerfahrung :
Nach dem einschalten, langsames warmlaufen ca. eine Minute der erste Versuch mit CD und das war schon nicht schlecht . Jetzt weiter mit Phono ,Trigon Advance und Vanguard 2 auch ok aber irgendwie anders . Ich muss dazu sagen , das ich fast 25 Jahre mit der Musica Nova Phönix gehört habe und sich da natürlich ein Klangbild eingebrannt hat.
Also habe ich mit H. Becker Telefoniert ,der hat mir erklärt das die Eingänge mit unterschiedlicher Empfindlichkeit ausgestattet sind ,was bei den unterschiedlichen Geräten auch Sinn macht.
Ich habe dann ,meine beiden Phono Vorverstärker an die unterschiedlichen Ausgänge angepasst und ich hatte sie noch nie so gleich in der Lautstärke ! ( Hammer ).
Jetzt ist die erste Woche vorbei , die Eclipse eingespielt und was soll ich sagen ,in all den Jahren in den ich mich mit dem Hobby HIFI beschäftigte ,habe ich ungelogen noch nie eine solche Räumlichkeit ,ohne den Verlust von Tiefe gehört . Und das alles mit den EH . Röhren ich wage gar nicht daran zu denken was da noch geht ?
Auch meine Frau ,die dieses Hobby mit viel Interesse begleitet sagte : ich kann nicht glauben, dass es möglich ist , hier in der Anlage noch eine solche Schippe drauf zu legen und jetzt habe ich Lust auf ein Live Concert ( Blödsinn haben wir ja schon im Wohnzimmer ) .
Abschließend:
Im Sommer ,wenn wieder verfügbar bekomme ich noch die Acryl Abdeckung und im kommenden Herbst, werde ich bestimmt aus Neugier auch einmal andere Röhren testen.
Alles in allem, bei mir hat die suche jetzt ein Ende !
Danke an Helmut Becker und sein Team, Gruss Willi H.
Helmut Becker - avatar Helmut Becker
Solaris
Solaris
Mittwoch, der 8. April 2020
4

Auf den Punkt gebracht: Der exzellent verarbeitete Audio Valve Solaris DAC sieht... View

I really admire Mr. Becker as kind gentle man. I have been using Hifiman Susvara, Stax limited300, Sennheiser IE 800, RHA CL2 with RME adi dac 2. Solaris has revolutionized Stax and IE 800. It made my Stax sounds best with warmth, and superb details; it give a every elastic lows and holographic soundstage to my IE 800.

When using Susvara however, I found myself using Stax mode with high gain for less fatiguing lows and holographics. I found it works better with its 4 wires stock cable than with ALO reference 16, which is also copper and silver hybrid but with 16 wires. Idk if the large numbers of wires put too much challenge on its conductivity.

Anyway, if you have IE800 and Stax L700 or limited 300 with upgraded pads, the Solaris will revolutionize these headphone and IEM with the superb synergy.

More of my YouTube review of Solaris can be found here:

https://youtu.be/jkaLeX1EC5Y
https://youtu.be/T-_Ebq4jkak
Ran Xiang - avatar Ran Xiang
Solaris
Solaris
Dienstag, der 24. März 2020
5

Auf den Punkt gebracht: Der exzellent verarbeitete Audio Valve Solaris DAC sieht... View

KHV Solaris!
Seit Oktober 2019 ist bei mir der Solaris in Betrieb. Ich nutze ihn als Treiber für meinen STAX. Mittlerweile ist er auch eingespielt und die Zeit ist reif für eine Klangbeschreibung.
In der Zwischenzeit war er allerdings beim Service auf der Suche nach einem Fehlerteufel. Dabei wurde gleichzeitig die Verstärkungsauswahl modifiziert und, weil das Gerät schon mal offen war, zwei neue Röhren eingesetzt. Der Service ist schon mal sehr gut. Den Fehlerteufel suche ich allerdings immer noch, aber das klappt schon noch irgendwie. Doch ich schweife ab, es geht doch letztendlich um den Klang.
Zurzeit höre ich mich durch das Gesamtwerk "Opera Omnia" von Dietrich Buxtehude (30 CD´s) eingespielt von Ton Koopman, wobei ich bei den Orgelwerken angelangt bin.
Ich sitze also mit geschlossenen Augen in meinem Sessel und die Orgel entlässt die ersten Töne aus ihrem gewaltigen Korpus. Was soll ich sagen, urplötzlich befinde ich mich in dem Kirchenschiff, mittendrin im Geschehen.
Halleluja!!! Musik hören über den Solaris ist nichts weniger als die Loslösung des Klangs von allen irdischen Zwängen. Gruss Markus
Helmut Becker - avatar Helmut Becker
Solaris
Solaris
Montag, der 23. März 2020
5

Auf den Punkt gebracht: Der exzellent verarbeitete Audio Valve Solaris DAC sieht... View

T+A Solitaire P planar magnetostatic on SOLARIS


So yesterday I unpacked my brandnew T+A Solitaire P headphones and had them burn in a bit overnight.
I connected it to the Audiovalve Solaris headphones amplifier via a 4-pin XLR cable, have been listening for several hours today and can no longer get my lower jaw up.
Never before have I heard such a deep black, effortlessly precise, detailed, dynamic, spatial, holographic and at the same time natural sound image with headphones.

The information that is conveyed in the low range comes so seamlessly, the vibrations dissipate so etremely well controlled in the space, that I startle again and again (in a positive sense).
Relaxation begins immediately after sterting the listening session as the signal reproduction is timely and stress-free.
You can hear details from left, from right, from the top, from down, from the front and from the back and you discover minute details in the music signal that were previously unheard.
I listened to the fabulous Manger production "Music like from another star" again and again. Now I'm at (please forgive) The Eagles, "Hotel California" (r-master; I know every detail, at least I thought) and for the first time I hear a scratching string vibrato on a guitar slide of Glenn Frey. I catch myself turning the music down more and more because my ears literally grow into the music and the sensitivity of my hearing increases. The volume control is currently in the 09:30 position, gain is not switched on the Audiovalve Solaris leaving enormous power reserves in this setup.

I find the mechanics and comfort to be outstanding, after a few seconds I forgot that I was listening with headphones.

The cables are also excellent. They are light, not at all microphonic and they are extremely flexible. The cable feed is protruded. A rubberized, asymmetrically shaped sheathing of the connector housing ensures that there is no fear of a cable break even after years of use, even with mechanical stress.

Suspended on a headphone stand, the ear cups do not fold around wildly, but go inwards to their rest position.

The entire handling is uncomplicated, since the mechanics only allow sensible degrees of freedom for the ear cups.

The design language takes on the chamfered edges and corners of the legendary T+A R series electronics design, which many - wrongly – attribute to BRAUN / Dieter Rams.

It's all a lot of fun.

Over the last few weeks waiting for the Solitaire P to arrive I have a few times heard things like "as a T+A fan you are biased" or "the manufacturer has no experience in headphone making". I would want to flip this over. I am convinced of T+A because this conviction matured in my 30 years of perception of the company's products. There were never half-baked dishes, they never thoughtlessly dived after a sow in Herford that was once again driven through the hi-fi village, but carried out their development work carefully and presented the products when they were ripe for the market. They never developed down to a price stipulated by a marketing function, but rather based on technical consistency. For the individual device series, different approaches were chosen, especially in the mechanics, in order to remain within certain price brackets.

The founder and managing director of T+A, Dipl.-Physicist Siegfried Amft, already dealt with foil transducers during his studies in electroacoustics, among others with Professer Fritz Sennheiser (the first) and has already used them in several generations of his high-end loudspeakers. In the current T+A Solitaire CWT 1000-40 Anniversary Edition (65.000 USD), for example, an outstanding, almost 1 meter long electrostat is used in the high frequency range, which was completely developed by the company itself and is built in Herford.

May those who condescend to come to such hasty judgments without having ever heard the Solitaire P, stay with it and thus keep their inner peace. Progress inevitably happens even without it, its beneficiaries are those who grant such innovations access to their life.

In any case, this is my very own feeling - I have headphones on my ears that have never existed before, anything but a "me-too product" that are abundant in the headphone sector.

Outstanding sound qualities, developed in Germany, technically outstandingly constructed, made from the finest materials in Germany with a lot of love by hand in a house to which voodoo was always a stranger and which places science at the forefront in its actions.

I am convinced that the Guide Michelin, if headphones fell from its breviary, would come to the conclusion that a listening session with the T+A Solitaire P is not just worth a stop or a detour, but even a trip.
In my Wiesbaden, Germany based studio I offer a comparison to many other top headphones, the T+A Solitaire HA 200 headphone amplifier will arrive shortly and complement the Solitaire P to a perfect system.

As soon as the Corona Virus is contained and I am allowed to open my shop to the public again, I am pleased to be able to give many interested parties a hearing session.

Until then, the shipping route remains for those seriously interested.

Stay healthy!

Best wishes, Ingo
Helmut Becker - avatar Helmut Becker
RKV 3
RKV 3
Sonntag, der 8. März 2020
5

[kkstarratings] No matter if high or low impedance, high or low efficiency,... View

Der RKV III ist in Sachen Auflösung, Raumdarstellung, Nuanciertheit und Transparenz das Beste, was ich je gehört habe. Mein Setup sind: Elac Miracord 90, McIntosh MP 100 und dann der RKV. Als Kopfhörer nutze ich einen Magnetostaten (Audeze LCD 2). Meine Referenz-Vinyl sind die Japan-Pressung von "Dark Side Of The Moon", die Wilson-Abmischungen der YES-Alben und natürlich die "Division Bell" von Pink Floyd. Ich kann nur sagen, dass ich Details beim Hören entdecke, die vorher irgendwie nicht da waren... Nachdem Herr Becker mir freundlicherweise das Relais eingebaut hat, kann ich nun auch meine Boxen antreiben - ohne, dass sie beim KH-Betrieb immer mit klingen würden. (Nochmals vielen Dank, Herr Becker - auch für die netten Unterhaltungen, die wir hatten!!!)
... und auch das muss man mal gehört haben: Der RKV treibt meine KEF R 700 so mühelos an, dass man glauben könnte, da wäre ein "50-KG-Röhren-Bolide" am Werk.
Alle Daumen hoch für dieses Wunderwerk deutscher Elektro-Ingenieurs-Kunst!!! Ich bin mir sicher, dass demnächst ein "Solaris" fällig ist - Herr Becker ist ein Genie!
Dr. Jan-Peter Koch - avatar Dr. Jan-Peter Koch